2 Down 4 to Go (Week 2)

Hola mi familia y mis amigos! It has been yet another productive, stressful, and happy week at la CCM. First I’m going to answer some of the random questions my mom has. On the 4th of july I did get to watch fireworks (what I could see anyway. There were trees blocking the view haha) There have been a few great devotional speakers here. My two favorites were Elder Spencer J Condie and elder Benjamin Banks (both emeritus general authorites). I don’t have time to tell you what they said haha! I did choir once but nobody in my district has since. It’s cool but my voice has been kind of shot for the past week or so. Ok on to the real letter.

Here is a list of the top 10 things I think/say every day:
1. English speaking would be so much easier
2. Que?
3. Que significa…? (What does … mean)
4. Como se dice …..
5. Es mas dope
6. Well that just about shatters my entire universe (hot rod quote lol)
7. Estoy cansadoooooo
8. Yo tengo que ir al baño
9. Repita por favor.
10. I wonder what music/iphones/movies/everything will be like when I get home
Honestly that list was a lot funnier in my head. Oh well no time to go back now! The spanish is coming along people! Aqui en la CCM, ellos no enseñen español como en la escuela. Nosotros aprendemos españ cuando estamos enseñando! Basically they just teach us basic stuff and we practice and practice and teach and teach and the language comes as we teach our investigators. We teach very often here. In fact, Elder christensen and I taught 4 lessons this monday. Pretty nuts. In the classroom and in lessons we speak only in spanish so we have picked up a lot in a very short amount of time. The days really fly by because we work so hard. We wake up from 6-6:30, go to exercise time, eat breakfast, study/prepare/teach for 3 hours, eat lunch, plan, study/plan/teach for another 3.5 hours, eat dinner, study/plan/teach for another 3.5 hours then we go back to our rooms, write in our journals, socialize a bit then pass into sleep only to repeat it again the next day. It sounds like torture but we have A TON of fun. I love my district soooo much! They are incredibly uplifting, spiritual, and hardworking. I’m making some amazing friends here. Well I’m sorry I don’t have much to write today but its just been one of those weeks I guess.
There is a joy in this work that cannot be denied. I’ve been happier than I’ve ever been before, pero (that means “but” in spanish. That was a complete accident but I’m going to leave it there for posterity’s sake) I’ve also been discouraged, homesick, and at times defeated. But The Lord knows me. He knows when I have those times and he sends me little tender mercies to keep me going and to remind me of his love. I’m very grateful that I am a missionary and that I get to work as hard as i do. Nuestro maestro, Hermano Rasmussen, said to us this week “a God-like destination requires a God-like effort”. There is no place for apathy in this work.
I know that God loves us. I know that he sent his son, Jesus Christ, to atone for our sins, weaknesses, and sadnesses. He loves us infinitely when it seems no one else will.
I love you all!!
Livin’ the Dream,
Elder Brundage
IMG_2423 IMG_2424 IMG_2425
Leave a Reply

