I’m Over the (CCM) Hill Week 3

Well. 3 weeks done and only 3 to go! The days have been moving by VERY quickly. I swear Sunday was yesterday and my report day was last week. When you´re in a little bubble like we are time is relative. You don´t think ¿Qué hora es?, you think “how long until personal study/companionship study/language study/our next lesson/daily planning/food time/until we get to sleeeeeep”. But yeah our lives are dominated by the schedule. And its kind of nice to be honest (although I wish I had a bit more time for personal study haha!).

Oh also, I did not understand what mail can mean to a person until I was a missionary. A letter or a Dear Elder here in the MTC can be an answer to my prayers. I absolutely want to hear from you. So please, if you have a little bit of time. Send me a quick note. I guarantee it will make my day!

Some shoutouts: Congrats on getting that job Bethany! That’s so sweet! Love you!
Shoutout to Libbie Knight and Beth Knight (you two have the same name BTW so that’s fun) for writing me a Dear Elders this week. Like I said above, getting a little note and seeing that somebody is thinking about you is extremely strengthening and touching.
Also, Garrett Hoffa is the man. That is all.
Anywho, this week has been a stressful one but one that also caused a lot of growth. Since Elder Christensen and I have been sick on and off for the first few weeks our teaching schedule has been kind of messed up and this week was when we taught more to get back on track.  En el pasado Lunes, enseñemos CINCO LECCIONES, cada por vente cinco- quarente minutos (On monday we taught 5 LESSONS from 25-40 minutes each). I was pretty nervous that morning but we got through it and had some great lessons. That’s probably the closest thing to the mission field that we have done so far. It is tough but very rewarding. Even here in the MTC we can get to know of the joys of missionary work and the amazing peace, comfort, and strength that comes with being converted to Jesus Christ and living the way he did.

In my study this week it was mostly focused on topics for lessons we were teaching, but I always had the time to read in The Book of Mormon. I am in Alma currently and reading about the missionary experiences of the sons of Mosiah. One line hit me this time more than it had in the past. It said something along the lines of “they wanted to make known these great things to all people… the very thought of one dying that spiritual death caused them to quake and tremble”. These missionaries had felt the true effects of the atonement in their lives in a very real way. They were in the gall of bitterness because of their iniquity and they were plucked out by the Savior’s hand. They know what real Christ-like love is. They could not stand the thought of someone experiencing spiritual death (spiritual death being full separation from God’s presence). This is a goal for me to strive to. To NEED every person I can to hear the good news of the gospel of Jesus Christ, that they may not taste bitterness in this life and the one hereafter. My goal is to be like the sons of Mosiah in my missionary work. I want to share what I know with everyone I know (or don’t yet know). I can do this with confidence because Heavenly Father is on my side. And he can cause mighty miracles to occur through my feeble efforts.

I love you all very much and I want to share my testimony of the Gospel of Jesus Christ. I know that God is our loving Heavenly Father and we are his children. I know that he hears our prayers and wants to help us. I know that Jesus Christ is my savior and, through his atoning sacrifice, I can be free of my sins and weaknesses. I know that the same organization that existed in Christ’s church is on the earth today and that it was established by the power of God through the prophet Joseph Smith. I know that through The Plan of Salvation, we can live with our Heavenly Father and our families for eternity. The Book of Mormon is the word of God and it contains the fulness of the Gospel. I love this church and the amazing truths found within. I testify of these things in the name of Jesus Christ. Amen.
Now the same en español (not an exact translation but the same meaning)
Yo sé que Dios es nuestro Padre Celestial y somos sus hijos. Yo sé que El escucha nuestros oraciones y quiere ayudarnos. Yo se que JesuCristo es mi salvador y, por medio del expiacion, puedo recibir perdón por mis pecados y culpas. Yo se que la iglesia Cristo pudo establacer es en el tierra hoy y que José Smith pudo establacer este iglesia mediante el poder de Dios. Yo se que por medio del Plan de Salvacion, podemos vivir con nuestras familias otra ves. El Libro de Mormón es la palabra de Dios y contene la plenitud del Evangelio de JesuCristo. Amo este iglesia y los verdaderos maravillosos contene. Testifico aquellas cosas en el nombre de JesuCristo. Amén.
Livin´ the Dream,
Elder Brundage
district
Leave a Reply

