Catch up email Week 20 (Mitre, Salta)

Hola todos!

Well I can actually write today! I know you all (or at least my mom) are dying for some info so here’s the lowdown.
Last week in Tucumán: My last week in Tucuman was really good! Just a regular old week though haha! The whole week before transfers we usually take pictures with everyone just in case we are transferred but I was SO SURE that I was going to stay that I took like 5 pictures. Luckily the day of transfers I had my head on straight and took some more. I was in the house of investigators when we got the call that I was being transferred to Mitre in Salta. We called all the people we knew that night to say bye and after I packed until like one and we left at like 7 the next day. The cool thing about transfers is that you can be really really frank with people and nothing bad happens. For example, an investigator Silvia needs to keep the law of chastity to be baptized and she really wants to be baptized but doesn’t want to get married. I said to her “Silvia, I love you, and I want you to be happy, and I know the only way you can be really happy is by making sacred covanents with God like you do at baptism. So, Silvia, You need to either marry Lucho or kick him out of your house or you won’t be baptized and will never be truly happy”
Silvia’s Response: “Bueno mi hijo, lo voy a pensar” (Alright, my child I’ll think about that) (I absolutely love that the older ladies say mi hijo because it makes me think of a grandma from alabama.) And then I left!
I got to Salta and met my companion Elder Erickson from Idaho. He is super cool! 18 months in his mission, super funny (our sense of humor is exactly the same lol) and we have a ton in common. We make a good team! Anyways we got here, found out we were whitewashing and they left us to our own devices. We didn’t have a dang clue of what to do. We had 2 or 3 names of investigators from the other elders, a horrible map of the area, a badly kept area book, and we didn’t even have a clue how to get to our area or where it was (we were living outside of our area but we have since moved into our area). It was rough going at first and we were reeeeaaallly stressed but if there is one thing I´ve learned in the mission it’s that the Lord doesn’t want us to be comfortable because if we´re comfortable we don’t progress. Well we continue to work with the AWESOME members of the ward and its getting good. We even have a baptism this Saturday! Her name is Paola Dominguez and she is an “eternal investigator” aka she has been investigating the church for about 2 years now. Her family has been holding her back form being baptized because they are going to disown her and shun her if she’s baptized but she will be this Saturday! Please Pray for her to have the strength to go through with it!
We also had a mission conference on Saturday! The entire mission was here in Salta to hear from Elder Cook, President Soares of the Presidency of the70 and Elder Texeira of the 70. It was crazy. I got to see all my mission friends and even Elder Huaman. We took a mission picture and we shook the hands of the authorities. The talks were super powerful and we received so much revelation for our area and our missions. What really hit me from the talk of Elder Cook (there’s like 50 things but I mention this) was his testimony of the savior Jesus Christ and his reality. When he spoke and bore withness the spirit touched my heart and He became more real to me than He has ever been before. I add my witness to those of the prophets and disciples of Christ, both ancient and modern, that Jesus Christ lives. That he is the son of God, the savior and redeemer of the world. I bear testimony of His love for us and of his living reality. The spirit of The Lord has made this known unto me and I cannot deny it. I invite all of you to seek your own testimony of the Savior Jesus Christ and of his atoning sacrifice because a knowledge of Him and His love for us changes lives. I know that God lives and loves me and I am so grateful to be a small part of his work and glory. I love this work and I love you all!
Livin´ the Dream,
-Élder Brundage
P1000490

His area Mitre in Salta

P1000522

Elder Erickson, Brundage and Huaman

P1000482

Familia Bonanno Bruno

P1000484

Familia Acosta There is only one member in this family but they are sooooo awesome

Leave a Reply

