Sorry I don’t take pictures…(Tucuman) Week 39

Hola!!!

Yeah sorry about that whole picture thing. There just isn’t much to photograph lol
I´m good you guys! All your letters seemed like I was depressed or something haha! It’s all good. I didn’t write because nothing extraordinary happened this last week. Haha don’t worry about me.
Anyways this week was good! A lot of our investigators are really starting to progress more! I’ll tell you a little bit about some of our best investigators. A bunch of them aren’t married so if these people are successful I’m basically Hitch lol
La Familia Juarez: It’s a family of 9 (only 2 of the kids are listening because the parents don’t want to “pressure their kids” which is dumb but whatever they’ll all listen eventually) that are friends of a (returning) less active family in our ward. The Dad Gustavo has never ever let anybody in his house before and the mom Cristina used to listen before. They are really awesome and are progressing quite nicely. 1 has their testimony of the BOM and the rest are still reading and praying! They have their own obstacles haha…. They work on Sundays and they aren’t married (been together for 22 years and are scared of getting married). They were gonna come to church this week but they woke up really sick, so bad that we came the next time and Gustavo asked for a blessing after hearing about it from their member friends. It was really spiritual and I see the changes happening in their family. Cristina keeps saying that he’s more kind and more loving with their kids and her and he says he feels it too but isn’t 100 percent sure yet. But they will be going to General Conference as a family and they are gonna feel it! I see big things from this family!
La Familia Corbalan: These 2 studs named Franco and Florencia. We left a Plan of Salvation pamphlet with him the first time and when we got back he had prayed about it and said he felt the spirit so strongly that he knows its true. We then met his girlfriend/babymama/future wife Florencia and taught the whole lesson to them and gave them a BOM. They then read it and both know that it is true as well. But due to his work schedule its been hard to meet with them. Also they were gonna go to church yesterday but didn’t show. But seriously I am almost certain that they will be baptized because they KEEP THEIR COMMITMENTS! I love it when they do that lol.
I don’t have much more time haha! We now have like 8 investigators right now that have testimonies and just need to get over one barrier. For some its just going to church and some its the law of chastity but all is possible!
Oh I´ll talk a bit about Easter. So the Easter traditions here are basically just catholic traditions. So they start the “Semana Santa” (Holy week) on Wednesday and they don’t eat cow during that time (not really sure why) and people all of a sudden become uber religious and holy for like 4 days and forget about the other 360.  They just do their own thing but that’s none of my business. Anyways they also eat a ton of this one food: Humitas. So they take corn on the cob and they shave the corn (like a  ton of corn) and cook it in water and a few other small veggies until its like this very very thick paste/porridge type thing. Then they serve it with a little bit of cheese and they make this very greasy sauce with green onions and put a little on top. So we ate that Friday before last, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Sunday of this week. We were vegetarians for this week basically because everyone here was a catholic before or they have catholic family now so they have to respect everyone that way and that’s what they eat lol
I am stoked for conference btw
Also I got EXTREMELY sick this week. Like sicker than I’ve ever been before so the Humitas were like bombs in my stomach and I had a fever and everything. It sucked. Reaaaaaally bad. But it’s good now. I’m basically recovered. I don’ t think I have a parasite/dengue/zika/whatever other thing that worries my mom anymore.
Love you all!
Livin´ the Dream,
Elder Brundage
Leave a Reply

