Famailla-(Tucuman) Week 55

Hola familia y amigos!

Well the first week in a new area always seems to be a long one. I was kind of confused, lost, and trying to get to know everyone and help them the best I can. But it was fun!
Famaillá is a small little town about 40 minutes from the city. The people are very devout catholics (Friday night the whole town shut down for the Fiesta de la Virgen del Carmen) and they are kind of lazy haha. The town is known for the empanada and because they harvest a TON of lemon and sugarcane.
The church is very small here. Yesterday was a good day because there were 20 or so people in sacrament meeting! We meet in a house converted into a chapel thats pretty small but nice and we have very few active members. Yesterday, Elder Osorio and I blessed the sacrament, I gave a talk, and we taught the sunday school class to all the members. We are also 1st and 2nd counselors in the branch presidency!
We have some really solid investigators who love the church and love the gospel. We have great people preparing themselves for baptism as well. More on them next week!
Our apartment is kind of horrible haha! Its very humid, there’s mold, it’s small, and we don’t have a fridge or gas (we have to get the propane tank thing filled up this week). We didn’t have gas so we couldn’t cook and the members don’t give us lunch (working on that) so we had to buy our food all week. We use an electric water heater to shower. We fill up a tank of water and plug it in and it heats up the water. Then you unplug it and shower really fast because there isn’t much water. A few weeks ago President came and said that we need to move as soon as we possibly can so we are also looking for apartments haha!
My comp is Elder Osorio and he’s great. He’s 21 years old, was born in Paraguay but grew up in Buenos Aires. He’s a convert of 2 years (he had his 2 year anniversary on the 6th of this month) and he has about 8 months in the mission. He’s a very happy guy and he loves to joke around. We get along really well and I love working with him!
As I told you guys last week I’m district leader now and that’s been cool. Basically I talk with them (missionaries in the district) every night to see how they are and make sure they are working hard. I give advice and encourage them and train in the district meetings we have every week! We have 3 other areas in the district. Bella vista: Hna Knowles from Maryland and her hija (greenie) Hna Adams from Alaska. Simoca: Hna Highfill from Chicago and Hna Lugo from Nicaragua. Monteros: Elder Bigler from Tucson Arizona and Elder Cloud from Tropic Utah. They are all so great!
This week I was feeling a little discouraged about the situation  in the branch and felt a little overwhelmed facing the task of helping not only our branch but trying to help everyone in the district. But I was able to learn in my studies that the Lord is happy with progress and effort. If I do all that I can He is happy and I don’t have to worry about the numbers or physical results. If I work hard I know God is happy with my service.
Also I don’t know how the tone of this letter sounded but I’m not discouraged or sad. I’m happy and excited for a new challenge. Come what may, and LOVE IT!
Livin’ the Dream,
Elder Brundage
P1010965

The District

P1010970

After English Class

One thought on “Famailla-(Tucuman) Week 55

Leave a Reply

