Week 99 (Salta)

Hola Familia y Amigos!

This will be my first good letter that I’ve written in a while haha
So these past few weeks have been long! We’ve already gone to 8 out of the 10 zone conferences in these last two weeks! That means that I’ve heard the same training from Presidente Chaparro and Hermana Chaparro and my companion 9 times (including mission leadership council), and I’ve given my “final testimony” 9 times as well! It’s been fun and I’ve been able to see and say goodbye to many of the amazing missionaries that I know and have grown to love so much! Tomorrow and Wednesday will be the last 2 zone conferences and then we get to be in our area for the rest of the transfer!!! Woooo!
Here on the homefront the work is going well. There are always certain people that a missionary teaches that he thinks will progress great and get baptized super fast and then those certain people just stop progressing for some reason. We have a few of those but we are still working so hard with those people to get them back on the right track!
Emanuel and Carolina MarĂ­n are now considering marriage seriously! There are some things that they need to resolve between them so that they can be ready for that commitment. They need to repent for some things and forgive each other for some things but I know that they will do it!! They came out to church again for the first time in about a month so we are seeing more progress in them! They have testimonies they are just scared of certain commitments.
We are also teaching an older woman named Rosa who went to church this week! She started taking the lessons at first just to help her son overcome his alcoholism, basically she was just going along to get him there. Now she is finding that the restored gospel of Jesus Christ applies to her personally and will give her a better life. She loved the church and she wants to go back!
One very spiritual experience we had with her was when she told us the story of her daughter who lived 44 years under her constant care. Due to problems at birth her brain was gravely damaged and she lived her life in a wheelchair, not able to express herself or take care of herself. She passed away this year. I was so happy to testify that she would be able to know her daughter as God knows her and that her resurrected body would be perfect and fit to the stature of her spirit. Oh how great the plan of our God!
Really, I feel so blessed and happy to be a part of this work. I feel like lately I’ve been fighting the things that I can’t control. I was resentful that I couldn’t be in my area for my other duties. I was sad that I couldn’t do everything that I wanted and I was stressed for many reasons. This week I went on exchanges with a great elder thats ending with me. In our inventory after the day’s work he told me “You are an amazing Elder and you’re doing a great job. But there’s one thing that is holding you back. Don’t stress too much. Don’t let the things you can’t control, control you. Just be happy and really enjoy the rest of your time here. Just be yourself and do all that you can do and it will all be fine.” In that moment I realized that I wasn’t enjoying my time here. I was looking for the bad and the inconvenient and not looking for the good and joyful. I let my own pride get in the way and I decided to not look for the hand of God in my life.
Gordon B. Hinckley once said “that we stop seeking out the storms and enjoy more fully the sunlight”. I am trying to do that now and I know that it works. The work of the Lord is a joyful work! An obedient life is a happy life!
Love you all!
Livin’ the Dream,
Elder Brundage
Leave a Reply

