Week 100 (Salta)

Hola Familia y Amigos!

Honestly, this week was weird and good at the same time. It started off really well. We found a new investigator  named Esteban from a referral from our ward mission leader. He had already given him a Book of Mormon. His sister from Buenos Aires is a member and she had already been talking to him for a long time about the church and he is super prepared. But his schedule is so hard! We can only see him like once a week! He had a baptismal date for the 10th but now he can’t because he didn’t go to church. I feel like he’ll be baptised but it’s sad that it won’t be in my time. I’m excited for him!
We finally finished with all the zone conferences this week by going Tuesday and Wednesday up to Oran and Tartagal. They were good conferences. It was just kind of a repetition of other trainings but what changed every time for me was the last testimony that I had to give.
Because I bore my testimony 11 different times to different groups of people I had to think of experiences and things that I learned in the mission. Looking back and what the Lord has done has been a very spiritual experience for me. It makes me think of a talk that Henry B. Eyring gave on remembrance. My experience is similar to his in the results and the growth.
He tells this story:
“When our children were very small, I started to write down a few things about what happened every day.  I wrote down a few lines every day for years. I never missed a day no matter how tired I was or how early I would have to start the next day. Before I would write, I would ponder this question: “Have I seen the hand of God reaching out to touch us or our children or our family today?” As I kept at it, something began to happen. As I would cast my mind over the day, I would see evidence of what God had done for one of us that I had not recognized in the busy moments of the day. As that happened, and it happened often, I realized that trying to remember had allowed God to show me what He had done.
More than gratitude began to grow in my heart. Testimony grew. I became ever more certain that our Heavenly Father hears and answers prayers. I felt more gratitude for the softening and refining that come because of the Atonement of the Savior Jesus Christ. And I grew more confident that the Holy Ghost can bring all things to our remembrance—even things we did not notice or pay attention to when they happened.
My point is to urge you to find ways to recognize and remember God’s kindness. It will build our testimonies. You may not keep a journal. You may not share whatever record you keep with those you love and serve. But you and they will be blessed as you remember what the Lord has done.”
It really has built my testimony and I know I have been blessed for looking back and seeing how all things were for my good and who I have become and who I can become.
Looking to the past makes me so excited for the future!
I’m so grateful that I have these last 2 weeks to serve my God in his vineyard and I will give it my all!
Livin’ the Dream,
Elder Brundage
Leave a Reply

